All Your Music In The Cloud

amazon cloud playerI am an avid music listener. I have an pretty large collection of music. Times have change since the days when you would be asked “How many CDs do you have”? Even before that, there was… Did you get the new Led Zeppelin Album. Now you hear…How many songs do you have?… Or…. Did you download the new Justin Timberlake song?

With all the technology at our fingertips, now you don’t even need to physically own any cd’s, albums, or any other formats of music. Thanks to Apple, Google, and Amazon you can download your song, and store it in their cloud based storage system. I wanted a cloud service as a back up, something for my 50,000 song collection. I went into my search expecting to use iTunes… I was really surprised with my findings…

1) The cloud service needed to have the ability to hold ALL my music. 50,000 songs

Winner: Amazon. – holds 200,000 songs for $25 a year… iTunes is also $25 but will only 25,000. Google holds 20,000 but its free!

2) Needs to play well with my Apple/itunes ecosystem

Winner – iTunes…. Duh… but Amazon through airplay and an app on my iPhone works really well. Just can’t purchase on the Amazon App on your apple device… Gee.. I wonder why?

3) Price. Winner Google – Free, is Free… and and Free is always good… $25 for Amazon and iTunes.

Winner? That depends on your situation… tight on money and have under 20,000 songs? Go with Google… have under 25,000 songs and own a lot of apple stuff… go iTunes. … over 25,000 songs… its simple Amazon.

Amazon in my opinion has a good app that scans and matches your music and imports them into the cloud. iTunes and Google have the same service.

I do not like Amazon’s app for the iMac. (Their version of iTunes.)  I found it to be rather slow. Maybe it was slow because of the all the songs I have stored into the cloud… who knows… iTunes has really spoiled me. BUT Amazon has a web based player that allows you to search, create playlists, or listen to your music. I use the web based player about 99% of them time.

What cloud system do you use for your music? How many songs do you have?

2 thoughts on “All Your Music In The Cloud

  1. Pingback: Dad’s Music | A Toolbox For Dad

  2. Pingback: Amazon Vs Apple | A Toolbox For Dad

Leave a comment